UPC Nine-ball Pool Championships 2011 – Review

Riley’s Wavertree and Grand Central in Liverpool were treated to a spectacle of pool in the recent UPC Nine-ball Pool Championships, as local representatives Edge Hill University overcame University of York to win their first university team title. University of Manchester dominated the Individual Championships with an unprecedented three out of four semi-finalists, with the eventual champion Nick Clayton defeating his Manchester team-mate John Fryer in the final.

With around 150 students participating, this event continues to boast the title of the biggest annual nine-ball event in the UK.

For the full and official Tournament Review Press Release, please click here (PDF).


Individual Championships – Qualifying Rounds (Excel)

Individual Championships – Qualifying Rounds (PDF)

Individual Championships (Excel)

Individual Championships (PDF)

Team Championship & Trophy (Excel)

Team Championship & Trophy (PDF)

Ten-ball Crash

In association with Virtual Pool 4 by Celeris

An unofficial, fun, Ten-ball Crash Pool competition was also trialed during the event, with the following high break scores recorded.

Winner: 96 break – Dan Turner (Warwick)

Runners-up: 89 – Hikaru Ikeda (Essex), 88 – Xuezheng Chen (Warwick), 86 – Callum Linington (Reading)

All of the above Ten-ball Crash highest scorers, and the team and individual winners from the weekend, won exclusive Virtual Pool 4 T-shirts courtesy of sponsors Celeris.

Images From The Weekend

Official Photographs

Team Championship Winners – Edge Hill 1st, left-to-right: Will Jerram, Andy Barlow (capt), Kieron Hayman, Rhys Williams.

Team Championship Runners-up – York 1st, left-to-right: Luke Fleet, Mike Walsh (capt), Sam Wass.

Team Championship Joint Bronze – Manchester 1st, left-to-right: John Fryer, Nick Clayton (capt), Mike Dixon.

Team Championship Joint Bronze – Warwick 1st, left-to-right: Stephen Brooks, Daniel Turner (capt), Matt Bradley.

Team Trophy Winners – York 2nd, left-to-right: Michael Bailey, George Hogg (capt), Mungo Pay.

Team Trophy Runners-up – Nottingham 2nd, left-to-right: Mustafa Jamali, David Locke (capt), Hashim Alaitah.

Team Trophy Bronze – Cardiff 2nd, left-to-right: Alex Thomson (capt), Jonathan Tyrrell, Michael Hamilton-Gee, Tim Beeton.

Individual Championship Winner – Nick Clayton (Manchester).

Individual Championship Runner-up – John Fryer (Manchester).

Individual Championship Joint Bronze – Mike Dixon (Manchester).

Individual Championship Joint Bronze – Michael Walsh (York).

Individual Championship Semi-finalists & GB 9 Ball Tour Qualifiers

Ten-ball Crash Pool Competition, sponsored by Virtual Pool 4 by Celeris

Individual Championship Final & Prize-giving

Our Referees

Individual Championship – Random Draws

Shirt Corner

Miscellaneous Images





Post to Twitter

This entry was posted in Event Reports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.