Review: BUCS-UPC Nine-ball Pool Championships 2016-2017

The 1st-4th December saw the newly BUCS accredited UPC Nine-ball Pool Championships relocate to the venues of Rileys Birmingham and Rileys Solihull, with the record breaking field of 194 competitors from 27 institutions making for one of the largest Nine-ball events in the country.

This year saw a very strong University of Exeter side take the Team Championship after all three tables finished at almost exactly the same time in their incredibly close final with second seeds York 1st.

The University of Nottingham produced their first Individual Championship winner since the 2007-08 season, as Tom Barrett was last man standing this season, overcoming last Shahidul Islam of UCL in the final.

In the Team Trophy, it was the University of Sheffield 2nd who were victorious after besting the University of Exeter 2nd who made the final for the second year running.

The full and official Tournament Review Press Release will follow in due course.


Individual Championship Qualifying Rounds (PDF)

Individual Championship (PDF)

Team Championship & Trophy (PDF)

Images from the Weekend

Official Photographs

TC 9 1617 - Winners - Exeter 1stTeam Championship Winners – Exeter 1st. Left to right: Fenn Sternberg, Ed Poultney, Rapolas Paulavicius

TC 9 1617 - Silver - York 1stTeam Championship Runners-up – York 1st. Left to right: Russ Shaw, Tristan Owen, Joe Kimbling

TC 9 1617 - Bronze - Sheffield 1stTeam Championship Bronze – Sheffield 1st. Left to right: Bian Hu, Bradley Andrews, Joe Brown

TC 9 1617 - Bronze - Ulster 1stTeam Championship Bronze – Ulster 1st. Left to right: Adam McMackin, Donal Fullerton, Ben Allen, Rory Kinney.

TT 9 1617 - Winners - Sheffield 2ndTeam Trophy Winners – Sheffield 2nd. Left to right: Kaavya Bharath Padmanabhan, Jake Etherington, Josh Mowbray.

TT 9 1617 - Silver - Exeter 2ndTeam Trophy Runners-up – Exeter 2nd. Left to right: Alistair Potter, Jack Pickering, Will Roche.

TT9 1617 - Bronze - Trent 2ndTeam Trophy Joint Bronze – Nottingham Trent 2nd. Left to right: Harry Newman, Conor O’Shea, Ben Lancaster.

TT 9 1617 - Bronze - York 2ndTeam Trophy Joint Bronze – York 2nd. Left to right: Daniel Hardy, Will Vince, Tom Dee.

IC 9 1617 - Winner - Tom BarrettIndividual Championship Winner – Tom Barrett (Nottingham)

IC 9 1617 - Silver - Shahidul Islam

Individual Championship Runner-up – Shahidul Islam (UCL)

IC 9 1617 - Bronze - Dan JonesIndividual Championship Joint Bronze – Dan Jones (Liverpool)

IC 9 1617 - Bronze - Tom HancherIndividual Championship Joint Bronze – Tom Hancher (Aston)



Post to Twitter

This entry was posted in Event Reports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.