Review: UPC Irish Intervarsity Pool Championships 2016-17

The 3rd-5th February 2017 saw the UPC Irish Intervarsities Eight-ball Pool Championships return to the Abbey Court Hotel and Spa in Nenagh, County Tipperary. This year saw 162 students and 31 teams from 14 institutions competing for titles in the Team Championship, Team Shield and Individual Championship.

This year saw Ulster University A retain the Team Championship having once again faced Dublin Institute of Technology A in a repeat of last year’s final.

Séan O’Connor of Athlone IT took out the defending champion David McQuillan on his way to the final of the Individual Championship, where he overcame Kevin McWeeney of NUI Galway to take the title.

The UPC Irish Intervarsities Team Shield was won by NUI Maynooth A as they overcame Dublin IT B in the final.

The full and official Tournament Review Press Release will follow in due course.


Individual Championship Qualifying Rounds (PDF)

Individual Championship (PDF)

Team Championship & Shield (PDF)

Images from the Weekend

Official Photographs

IIV 1617 TC Winners - Ulster ATeam Championship Winners – Ulster University A. Left to right: Donal Fullerton, Adam McMackin, Callum Byrne, Caolan O’Hagan, James Crawford.

IIV 1617 TC Silver - DIT ATeam Championship Runners-up – Dublin IT A. Left to right: Adrian Grew, Conor Nevin, Alan Ormsby, Séan O’Neill, Andrew Ennis.

IIV 1617 TC Bronze - AIT ATeam Championship Joint Bronze – Athlone IT A. Left to right: Mark Lynch, Adam Powell, Dan Jordan, Stephen van Beaumont, Séan O’Connor.

IIV 1617 TC Bronze - NUIG ATeam Championship Joint Bronze – NUI Galway A. Left to right: Robert Kenny, Kevin McWeeney, Daniel Foy, Séanan Prendergast, Conor Harkin.

IIV 1617 TT Winners - NUI Maynooth A

Team Shield Winners – NUI Maynooth A. Left to right: Gareth Walsh, Tom Duignan, Niall Brady, Diarmuid O’Connor, Shaun McDonnell.

IIV 1617 TT Silver - DIT BTeam Shield Runners-up – Dublin IT B. Left to Right: Ciaran Lambe, Fergus O’Connor, Mark McGuinness, Daniel Pender, Cathal Macken Collier.

IIV 1617 IC - Winner - Sean OConnorIndividual Championship Winner – Séan O’Connor (Athlone IT)

IIV 1617 IC - Silver - Kevin McWeeneyIndividual Championship Runner-up – Kevin McWeeney (NUI Galway)

IIV 1617 IC - Bronze - Conor HarkinIndividual Championship Joint Bronze – Conor Harkin (NUI Galway)

IIV 1617 IC - Bronze - David McQuillanIndividual Championship Joint Bronze – David McQuillan (IT Blanchardstown)

Post to Twitter

This entry was posted in Event Reports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.